Plantation Course History

40 Years in the Making

 

The golf course started as a dream of David Lybrand’s in 1971 when he purchased the 300 acre site and set to develop a golf course, of which he knew little about. He assembled a team of locals, each with their own specialty, and began construction. Many challenges were addressed in constructing over 30 acres of lakes, and planning around the beautiful trees.

 

They employed architect Tom Jackson to complete the final phase. He did a masterful job of blending greens and traps which matched the terrain and beauty of the site.

 

The course was originally named ‘Oristo’, and the grand opening in late 1973 featured a helicopter landing on the course bringing Sam Snead, Bob Goalby, and Chuck Matlock to play the first round. The Pros were complimentary of the course and so were many golfers who would long enjoy Edisto’s new facility. Soon after opening, Oristo received recognition from several sources as one of the best new courses in the Carolina’s.

 

During its history, the course has been visited by golfers from every state in the Union. Serving as host for Wyndham Fairfield community has enabled many guest an opportunity to enjoy this golf gem of the low country of South Carolina.

 

The island known as Edisto is rich in history. Stories abound of the Indians who first enjoyed the area, on to the struggles and battles of the Civil War years, and later the Mystic of the Plantation days. Thus, the naming of our new course honors the past of the area, and encourages excitement about its future as a truly beautiful and interesting layout.

Public Tee Times Available

Call (843) 869-1111

Follow Us on Social Media